theater students2

Lacc Theater Academy Participates in National Competition

This February, 26 Theatre Academy students went to Honolulu, Hawaii to participate in this year’s Kennedy Center / American College Theatre Festival.  For many of these students, it was their first time being on airplane or their first time being outside of the state.

An Invitational Scene from our Theatre Academy production of The Glory of Living, directed by faculty member Tony Maggio,  was performed by students James Jenkins and Ashley Weiss

17 student Irene Ryan Acting nominees participated along with their 8 student partners.  Dustin Myklebust was a semi-finalist and was advanced to the Finalist Round with his partner Timothy Paul McCray.

As part of the New Play Program, a Staged Reading of A Live MixTape by Tahirih Moeller, directed by Louie Piday, was performed by acting students Emilia Scott, Dustin Myklebust, Elle Willgues, Sam Horrillieno, Alexis Jackson, James Jenkins, Cyrus Palizban, Ashley Weiss, Mariana Rogen, Jacqueline Moore, Lamont Oakley, and Timothy McCray.

Faculty member Tina Kronis won the National Devised Performance Initiative award for “outstanding ability to captivate and transcend through performance”.

Three costume designers competed in the Design and Technology Competition:  Marceline Hale was given an award for Theatrical Design Excellence in Theoretical Project, Costume Design, for Girl of Glass; German Flores won the Focal Press/Rafael Jean Award, KCACTF First Time Regional Entry for One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest Costume Design.

Emily Barnett was a preliminary round student director in the Stage Directors and Choreographers Fellowship.  Leslie Ferreira coordinated all the student director activities at the festival through the Stage Directors and Choreographers Student Directing Fellowship.

Student Joey Vreeland was a Stage Management Fellowship participant.

Leave a Comment